go to content | home | search | contact
toddler walking

Grief Support

Email List
Skip Grief Support Navigation

Grief Support Navigation

What is Grief?

Grief is a physical and emotional response to a loss. The experience of grief is highly personal, but there are common elements. Initially, especially when a loss was unexpected, one may feel shock and disbelief, a sense of numbness or unreality. Anger is another common emotion.

Many grief experts describe five stages of grief:

  1. Denial
  2. Anxiety
  3. Depression
  4. Anger
  5. Guilt and acceptance

These stages serve a purpose. They serve to help survivors put their grief into a context that they can live with.

It takes time to move through the stages of grief. It is important to realize that grieving is difficult work. It can be exhausting and one might want to shut down or avoid these feelings. However, most experts agree that it is essential to grieve a loss. Take time for yourself during this process and give those you love time to grieve in their own way.

People who get "stuck" in a grief stage may benefit from sharing their feelings with a support group or treatment professional. It is important to remember that trauma has a real influence on our brains as well as our bodies. Know that these mental illnesses can be successfully treated.

Faith and Grief

For many people, a faith in God helps them deal with their loss. This faith takes many forms, and we do not endorse any particular faith in this site. We have listed below some faith centered sites that you might find helpful in your grief journey.

Please share any faith based websites that you find helpful by email. Thank you.